How About Wild Salmon for Dinner Tonight

So, I know I have been posting mainly day starter meals on my website.  But I think perhaps this time I will give you a creamy smoked salmon delight to consider.  Imagine the taste of smoked salmon smothered in organic Irish potatoes. Topped with diced onions and creamed with Joy Mayonnaise?  Well, I assure you this creamy wild salmon recipe is one you will want to use over and over again.  An excellent way to get that good healthy fat in your diet and cut back on your meat intake.

All salmon is NOT created equal.

Okay now what I am about to share let me make this clear if you are used to wild salmon in a can then you will have to chunk it for this recipe.  This meal is not only rich in healthy fat, but you also need to be rich to afford it.  However, my recipe will allow you to eat off of this meal for a while, and in fact have some to make it again later.  We are combining both a side and a meat dish all in one so technically this dish is like a downgraded casserole dish.  It won’t replace the need for any additional sides but it will definitely make your meal more filling and oh so delicious.  So for your viewing pleasure I will be sure to show a picture of the kind of salmon I used so you can scout it out at the store. I will warn you now at Wal-Mart it cost $10.97, so if you can get it on sale or if you just want to impress someone special with a gourmet meal then this will be your meal.  But I assure you the price will ensure that this will be a very rich delicacy.  Unless, you live in Canada and have the Ocean behind your home in which case you can catch the fish and smoke it yourself. A Little Fish Humor.  So here we go!

photostudio_1468284847691

Now before you get super excited and wonder if I made a mathematical error being that this pic reveals a price of $4.98 and I said this costs $10.97.  Let me explain the Wal-Mart I went to didn’t have a price at all listed, and apparently the price below it is for the items below although the items below it was crab legs, the sticker which states “salmon” is not associated with the salmon.  How I ended up being able to create this recipe is because I purchased two of these, noticed my ticket was unusually high but I didn’t run through it with a fine tooth comb.  But when I checked it out on my Savings Catcher receipt viewer and saw that they charged me $10.97.  Of course I was furious and went back demanding my money.  After checking out my statement, the Customer Service Manager gave me the fish at the price you see listed above.  If it wasn’t for that I promise you this fish would have stayed here at the store.  Now she told someone to make sure they correct the sticker since she would have to give these to me at the price listed.  Now, mind you I had taken this home and had it for at least a day or two since when I found the price discrepancy and when I went to the store were two different days.  I am sure for liability reasons even though the product wasn’t opened it just made more sense to give it to me at that price.  Either way, I would like to thank Wal-Mart for helping me have this wonderful delightful cuisine experience.  But trust me this is the fish you want for this recipe.  Beware, once you get this fish though you will never be able to return to the can stuff.  I am convinced it is worth it to buy it like this.  Find yourself a coupon or something, but it is a world of difference.  This fish even smells good.  If you ever had canned salmon you know exactly what I mean.  It is a horrible fishy odor.  This one smells GOOD!  You will only need half of one pack of this salmon.  This particular pack above was the double pack so you will have two separate packs on this one.

2 tbsp coconut oil
Parsley flakes
Cayenne pepper
Garlic powder
Sea salt
1/3 cup of joy mayo
4 tbsp almond milk
1/2 cup chicken broth
5 organic Irish potatoes skinned, peeled, sliced
1 oz wild smoked salmon
1 small organic onion sliced and diced

Cook in chicken broth potatoes and onions on top of stove for 25 minutes on 
medium high.  
Then add half pack of wild salmon and cook again for another 20 minutes.
Add almond milk about 10 minutes before it is finished cooking. 
Stir until it looks like mashed potatoes.  Add coconut oil and then add 
seasonings and mayonnaise.  Continue to stir until well blended and season 
to your taste.

justmayolg
This stuff right here is AWESOME!  No GMO and taste 
good.  Praise YAH for real food not test tube food, and
 affordable. Can find at Wal-Mart.

Updated recipe, so sorry I forgot to explain when onions
should be added.  Make sure it cooks down with potatoes
you want creamy not crunchy.     
                                       Bon Appetite
5 thoughts on “How About Wild Salmon for Dinner Tonight

  1. Naomi says:

    Can I safely assume you meant to mention adding the onion to the cooked mixture at some point? If so, when? Or maybe it is added raw to the end product? I am fascinated with this recipe!

    Like

  2. Naomi says:

    Never mind. I see now in your blog above the recipe something about “topped with diced onions” so I will add that to my copy of the recipe. It would be helpful to others though, if you added that tidbit of information into your actual recipe! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

